Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute

Notary Public Education

Notary Public Education

Notary Public Education provides individuals with the opportunity to become or renew their standing as a Notary with the state of North Carolina. This course of study meets the state guidelines for instruction.

Students will take the exam at the end of this class. Once you have completed the course, you will send a completed application to the Secretary of State with an additional $50.00. You will then receive a letter from the Secretary of State directing you to go to the Register of Deeds to be sworn in as a notary. There is a fee of $10.00 for the Register of Deeds.

    Notary Public Guidebook for North Carolina Eleventh Edition 2016 is available in the bookstore for $25.
    If you do not have photo ID, you must wait until you receive your driver's license in the mail.
  • You will also need a black pen and a #2 Pencil.

Admission Requirements

Qualification requirements to become a notary are the following:

  • Must be 18 years of age or legally emancipated
  • Reside or work in North Carolina
  • Complete a 7 hour notary Public class sponsored by a community college
    • NC requires a minimum of a seven (7) hour course, successful completion of final exam at 80% or higher, submission of application and fee to NCSOS, and taking the "oath" at the Register of Deeds office. Successful candidates must purchase their seal and stamp. Upon completion of ALL, the individuals are then commissioned to perform notarial acts. Textbook is required.
  • Purchase a Notary guide book. Presently the 2016, 11th edition is the most current
  • Submit an application and a non-refundable $50.00 to NC Department of Secretary of State within 3 months of passing the class.
  • Have never been convicted of corruption or malpractice in any other office
  • Have never been removed from an office by impeachment
  • Have a High School Diploma or equivalent
  • Speak, read and write English
  • Be a legal resident of the United States or possess a Permanent Resident card
  • You must be on time to class


*If you have been convicted of a felony you must have completed all probation at least 10 years prior to applying for a notary commission.

*If you are currently on probation for anything regardless if it is a felony or misdemeanor you do not qualify to be a Notary Public. You must have completed all probation at least 10 years prior to applying for a notary commission.

* If you are looking to recertify, your commission can be expired up to 1 year before being required to retake or take the class.

For more information please contact:
The Notary Public Section North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State
P.O. Box 29626
Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0626

Phone Number: 919-807-2219

How to Register

Search for Notary course/sections on our Online Schedule page (based on chronological dates). Once you’ve made a decision on the course/section, you can sign up in-person at either campus or register on-line following these instructions.


In accordance with the North Carolina Community College System, tuition for this occupational extension continuing education course is $72.

Future Classes

The Notary Public Education course is taught throughout the year on both the Caldwell and Watauga Campuses. Visit the Online Schedule page to see when Notary Public Education classes are scheduled.

If you are re-certifying and your notary has not lapsed, you do NOT need to take a class to re-certify

  • Go to North Carolina Secretary of State Notary sign-in at Reappointment Application form, and complete the necessary steps:
    • Sign in to your Notary Account
    • Complete your renewal application by updating your information
    • Pay the $50 application fee (add $3 transaction fee) or by mail (payment must be received before taking the online exam)
    • Take and pass the online exam (80% or better, 3 chances within 30 days)
    • Print and mail your notarized application to our office
    • Monitor your email for the oath notification upon approval
    • Take the oath within 45 days of the oath notification issue date at the Register of Deeds in your commission county
  • For NC Notary Public commissions that have expired, you may be directed to repeat the course. Contact the NC Secretary of State office for confirmation.
  • For more information and Notary forms, go to

Additional Information

Contact Continuing Education and Workforce Development Department Monday - Thursday 8 am - 8 pm  and Friday, 8 am - 5 pm at 828.726.2242.


Program Information


Mission Statement:

The mission of Vocational and Technical Services is to offer quality, accessible career and workforce development classes that are short-term in nature, and to prepare students with the knowledge and skills necessary for employment, development and advancement in the workforce.