This 40-hour course is designed as a refresher for individuals whose Nurse Aide I listing has expired within the previous two years. It also allows out of state individuals the opportunity for initial listing in North Carolina.
- Program Content
- Admission Requirements
- Career Info
Allows out of state individuals the opportunity for initial listing in North Carolina. Basic Nurse Aide I knowledge of personal care and nursing assistant skills are reviewed and students are allowed to practice in a lab setting during this course. The North Carolina Nurse Aide I Candidate Handbook is provided as the basis for this comprehensive review. Upon successful completion, the student will be better prepared to apply for and successfully pass the two-part written and skills examination required by North Carolina for relisting.
Registration fee $126.00
- Proof of completion of a minimum 75-hour state approved Nurse Aide I course
- Proof of expired Nurse Aide I listing within the past two years
- Documented proof of any name change since initial/previous listing
Re-Listing as a Nurse Aide I in North Carolina
- Social Security card – name must match government issued photo ID
- Government issued photo ID – name must match Social Security card
- Students must submit an application fee of $101 to NACES Plus Foundation to schedule a test date with local regional testing site.
- Students must successfully pass the state-administered two-part written and skills competency examination before being re-listed with Division of Health Service Regulation.
According to the US Bureau of Labor Statistics
- The national median annual pay in 2015 was $25,710.00; or hourly rate of $12.36.
- North Carolina Estimated Hourly Nurse Aide wages are somewhat less than the national average.
- Employment of nursing assistants and orderlies is projected to grow 17 percent from 2014 to 2024, much
faster than the average for all occupations. Because of the growing elderly population, many nursing
assistants and orderlies will be needed in long-term care facilities.
Licensure: Authorization granted to CCC&TI to provide instruction within another state does not imply or provide guarantees of any kind that an individual will be granted professional licensure by another state as a result of completing coursework at CCC&TI or receiving professional licensure in North Carolina. It is the sole responsibility of the individual/student to determine whether another college or license-awarding agency in another state will accept CCC&TI coursework and/or award licensure through a reciprocity agreement with the State of North Carolina.
- Home Care Agencies
Frequently Asked Questions
- My Nurse Aide I certification expired over 2 years ago, how can I get it back?
- You can retake the Nurse Aide I course
- What websites can I go to for additional information?
- What is the phone number to verify registry listings?