This course is designed to prepare non-licensed personnel with the skills required by
the North Carolina Board of Nursing to practice as a Medication Aide in long-term
care/skilled nursing facilities within the state of North Carolina.
Course topics include:
- safe and accurate administration of medications via the following routes:
- subcutaneous injections
- administration of meds via G-tubes
Upon successful course completion, students are eligible to sit for the state examination in order
to become listed on the North Carolina Division of Health Service Regulation Medication Aide Registry.
- High School Diploma or High School Equivalency
- Must be 18 years of age
- Current listing with the Division of Health Service Regulation as a Nurse Aide I with
no substantiated findings of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation of property.
- Proof of completion of a minimum 75-hour, state approved Nurse Aide I course
- Social Security card – name must match government issued photo ID
- Government issued photo ID – name must match Social Security card
*May be purchased in College Bookstore
Textbook prices are subject to change.
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics website
(www.bls.gov),current state hourly wage range is $11.64
By taking this 28-hour Medication Aide course, the hourly wage typically increases $1 to $3 per hour
over having the Nurse Aide certification alone.
- Home Care Agencies
- Physician’s Offices
- Specialty Hospitals
Frequently Asked Questions
- I am currently listed as a Nurse Aide in North Carolina.
Why should I take the Medication Aide course?
- When hiring, facilities give preference to nurse aides who also have their medication aide
- Some facilities pay $1 to $3 per hour more for those with medication aide certification.
- For future nurses, the course helps instill confidence while performing medication
- Is a state competency test required upon course completion?
- How can I become listed on the registry as a Medication Aide?
- Be currently listed on the North Carolina Nurse Aide I registry with no substantiated
findings of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of property AND
- Complete a state approved Medication Aide course of a minimum 24 hours AND
- Successfully pass the state administered competency examination
- If listed on the NC Registry as a Medication Aide, can I work in an adult care home?
- If listed on the NC Registry as a Medication Aide, can I administer injections?
- Does North Carolina list Medication Aides by reciprocity, endorsement, or transfer from other
- No, to be listed on the N.C. Medication Aide Registry, an out-of-state medication aide must
pass a minimum 24-hour N.C. Board of Nursing-approved medication aide training program and
pass the state medication aide exam.
- Where can I get information regarding Medication Aide competency testing?
- Visit the Pearson Vue website at www.pearsonvue.com
- Exam scheduling procedures are provided in the Candidate Handbook.
- Application process and additional information may be found on the website or by calling
the following numbers:
- Exam Application Processing Questions: (888) 204-6207
- Exam Reservation/Cancellation: (800) 274-7176
- When I complete the training and become listed, how can I renew?
- Through qualified, documented work experience consisting of 8 hours within the previous
two years, for pay, under a registered nurse or qualified supervisor.
- What happens if I do not renew within the required 24-month period?
- A new training program and competency exam is required to become re-listed.
- Do I have to be a Medication Aide to apply for nursing school?
- No. Medication Aide Certification is not a requirement for nursing school.
For additional information, contact
Continuing Education and Workforce Development Department
2855 Hickory Boulevard
Hudson, NC 28638
Watauga Continuing Education Department
460 Community College Drive
P.O. Box 3318
Boone, NC 28607